Preparation

A new favorite website, The Millions, today features a lovely essay by Jessica Francis Kane about the search for a perfect writer’s workspace. Please take a few minutes to read it here.

I feel stuck lately, like I can’t move left or right because I haven’t prepared. Like Hallie’s father, I’m not accomplishing much, letting stasis become the perfect excuse for stasis. I can’t X because first I’d have to Y and I can’t Y because because because.

For some reason, all of this fell into place last night, tumblers in a lock aligning with a click loud enough to keep me awake for a couple of hours.  I am hatching a plan, hoping this little breakthrough will be enough to keep me moving forward, and preparing to get past preparing.

This entry was posted in Things to read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

