Back to School

Will I ever let go of the academic calendar? After years and years of being a student, and then years of working on an academic schedule, will I ever reach the point where I don’t feel the need to buy a new backpack at the end of August? When I don’t ogle pens and notebooks? When I don’t feel the urge to lay in a new pair of Bass weejuns?

Probably not. And that’s ok. I just need to figure out the right way to convert this ache for a fresh slate into my own version of slightly early New Year’s resolutions.

I feel poised at the moment, like I’m perched on a precipice, in a good way. I feel the next six months hold some opportunities and choices and, I hope, total wild cards that will knock me on my ass and leave me gasping for breath.  I’m not a zen-type of person, but I’m feeling at ease with myself lately in a way that is new and, I’ll admit, somewhat disconcerting.

So, happy fall, welcome back, and here’s hoping for a great year.

Washington, DC, 2009

This entry was posted in Nonsense and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to School

  1. James Runkle says:

    My initial reaction is to just write “FIRST” and then move on. Apparently, it’s a thing. When you are the first commenter on a blog post you are supposed to write “FIRST”. It proves you’re the best? The coolest? Most virile? I’m uncertain.

    But my next instinct (thank you, Methodist-WASP-repressed-childhood-) was to do the proper thing and write an actual response. I love the fall. All those Back To School ads and sales and nostalgia. When all I had to worry about was “gosh, I hope I can wake up by noon to make it to my 12:15 class. Wow, life is so tough for me right now.” THOSE, without question, were the days.

    • Erin says:

      Jamie Runkle, you’re a gentleman and a scholar. And yes, we had it good. And our parents tried to tell us about the best years of our lives, and we’ll try to tell our kids, but I wonder if most of the beauty isn’t in the remembering. Anyway, I’ll be up there in just a few weeks and I’m hoping to buy you a beer.

Leave a Reply

