Up Top

Have I told you how I feel about my roofdeck?

Washington, DC, 2011Because it’s nothing short of love between us.

On my roof, I’m 35 pounds lighter and four inches taller. The wine I sip is a sophisticated vintage only available to those most in the know. The book I read is witty yet thought-provoking and these qualities are wryly expressed by the cover art.

During daylight hours, I sit in dappled sunshine. At night, everything is candlelit. My shoes are sandals that display my devastating arch and well-turned ankle. My clothes are gauzy and flowing. My hair ripples in the breeze like a flag.

My friends are raconteurs and the wrought-iron furniture is hand-crafted by artisans in undiscovered Amazon villages. The air was bottled in Paris. The yellow jackets are heirloom yellow jackets from a organic yellow jacket farm in Idaho of which Demi Moore and Ashton Kutcher are part owners.

Honestly, it’s good shit up there.

This entry was posted in Nonsense, Places and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Up Top

  1. I do miss DC roofdecks. Yours, in particular, sounds exceptional. Minus the yellow jackets…

    • Erin says:

      They’re very special yellow jackets, I’ll have you know. Only the finest.

      Also, it bears repeating that I’m very happy you’re back.

  2. toemailer says:

    I think I read that book last summer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

