Inspiration, That Bastard

The thing about this fickle, fickle Internet is this: It giveth and it taketh away.

Because of what I do for a living, I didn’t comment on the Penn State events of the week on any social media platform until the current chapter had drawn to a close. Believe me, I have opinions. I have opinions like I have glasses of wine at Wednesday night happy hour. But I’m not skilled enough a writer to do a dance with all the nuance involved, so best to keep my mouth shut and send up good thoughts to the victims of this horrible, unspeakable situation.

Plenty of other people commented, though, and so many of those comments were, quite frankly, small and short-sighted and thoughtless and completely ignorant of nuance or any worldview that started beyond the tip of their own nose. But I held my tongue, as there’s nothing to been won by getting into those kinds of fights.

On the other hand, the Internet, fickle and convoluted engine though it is, has brought so many wonderful, wonderful people into my wobbly elliptical orbit. People who write like this and this and this and this. People who make me laugh and make me think and make me believe that maybe there’s a way to express myself and dance with the nuance and occupy a corner in a way that might be pleasing to some (not least me).

So, here’s my pledge of the moment: A post a week. And a list like Laurie’s before the end of Thanksgiving weekend.

Deal?

This entry was posted in Nonsense, People, Things to read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiration, That Bastard

  1. Zil says:

    I fully support this pledge of the moment!

  2. YES. DEAL! Something is much better than nothing. 🙂

  3. lexa says:

    Hooray. With baded breath.

Leave a Reply

